About India

Delightful Delhi Metro

delightful delhi metro
delightful delhi metro

The Delightful Delhi Metro is the lifeline of the capital city of India. Delhi Metro since its inception in 2002 as grown with every phase and has become better day in and day out in serving the people of Delhi. The first route of Delhi Metro was inaugrated by then Prime Minister Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2002 and it was from Tis Hazari to Shahadra. Here are some basic highlights of Delightful Delhi Metro.

  • Delhi Metro is owned by DMRC(Delhi Metro Rail Corporation) and Government of India.
  • Delhi Metro has a network that covers a total length of 213 Kilometers.
  • Delhi metro has total number of 160 stations.
  • Delhi Metro on an average covers around 2000 trips daily.
  • Delhi Metro operates between 6 am till 12 midnight.

History Of Delhi Metro:

  • It is said that DDA(Delhi Developement Authority) after doing an extensive research came with the idea of rapid transport system.
  • In 1995 DMRC was setup under the leadership of E sreedharan as the Managing Director.
  • Constriction work for Delhi Metro started in 1998.
  • It is said after the initial construction DMRC took assistance from Hong Kong MTRC.

delightful delhi metro

Routes Of Delhi Metro:

  • Delhi Metro has been build in different phases ranging from phase 1 to phase 5.
  • Routes of Delhi Metro has been divided in different coloured lines which are as follows:
  1. Red Line:
  • It was the first route which started in 2002 .
  • It covers the station from Rithala in West to Dilshad Garden in East.
  • It has a total length of around 25 kms with a total number of 21 stations.
  • There are currently 31 trains on this route.

2. Yellow Line:


  • It was  started in 2004 .
  • It covers the station from Samayapur Badli   to Huda city Center.
  • It has a total length of around 49 kms with a total number of 44 stations.
  • There are currently 60 trains on this route.

3. Blue Line:


  • It was  started in 2006 and next phase in 2010 .
  • It covers the station from Noida City Center to Dwarka sector 21 and from Yamuna Bank to vasihali.
  • It has a total length of around 60 kms with a total number of 51 stations.
  • There are currently 70 trains on this route.

4. Green Line:


  • It was  started in 2010 and next phase in 2011 .
  • It covers the station from Inderlok to mundika and Ashok park to Kirti Nagar.
  • It has a total length of around 18 kms with a total number of 16 stations.
  • There are currently 16 trains on this route.

5. Violet Line:

  • It was  started in 2010.
  • It covers the station from ITO to Escorts.
  • It has a total length of around 35 kms with a total number of 28 stations.
  • There are currently 38 trains on this route.

6. Orange Line( Airport Express):

  • It was  started in 2011.
  • It covers the station from New Delhi to Dwarka sector 21.
  • It has a total length of around 22 kms with a total number of 6 stations.
  • There are currently 8 trains on this route.

delightful delhi metro

The security of Delhi Metro was first given to Delhi Police and after 2007 it has been taken over by CISF(Central Industrial Security Force.)

  • The fare for Delhi Metro starts from INR 8 to INR 30 depending upon the distance that you travel.
  • If we talk about famous people recently francois Hollande the french President took a trip in Delhi Metro.
  • If we talk about the people who use Metro then more than 22 Lacs travel daily using Metro.



  • After the New York City Subway, Delhi Metro is the only Metro to be ISO 14001 certified for enviornment friendly construction.
  • There are a number of stations on the Blue Line that have rain harvesting plants.
  • Delhi Metro is the first in the world to earn Carbon Credits under the United Nation’s project Clean Developement Mechanism.
  • When Delhi Metro’s first phase was completed three years before time, ‘Business Week’ termed it is Nothing short of a Miracle.

The delightful Delhi Metro is the Lifeline of Delhi and an amazing achievement of India.





Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.