About India History

History Of Jainism and Mahavira Jainism originator

History of Jainism

History of Jainism goes back to Indus valley and vedic period. Rig Veda mentions the name of first tirthankara who was Rishabha. There have been 24 tirthankara in the History of Jainism of which Mahavira was the last one. Tirthankara are the spritual teachers who lead you to the path of salvation and truth. As per History of Jainism the 24 tirthankaras are as follows with their symbol:

  1. Rishabha — Bull.
  2. Ajitnath — Elephant.
  3. Sambharnath — Horse.
  4. Abhiaandam — Monkey.
  5. Sumatinath — Curlew.
  6. Padmaprabhu — Red Lotus.
  7. Suparswanath — Swastik.
  8. Chandraji Prabhu — Moon.
  9. Suvidhinath — Crocodile.
  10. Shitalnath — Srivatsa.
  11. Shreganath — Rhinocerous.
  12. Vasupujya — Buffalo.
  13. Vimalnath — Boar.
  14. Anantnath — Falcon.
  15. Dharamanath — Vajra.
  16. Shantinath — Deer.
  17. Kuntunath — He-Goat.
  18. Arnath — Fish.
  19. Mallinath — Waterpot.
  20. Muniswanath — Tortoise.
  21. Neminath — Blue Lotus.
  22. Arishtanemi — Conch Shell.
  23. Parshwanath — Serpent.
  24. Mahavira — Lion.

History of Jainism

The central idea of Jainism is practice of non-violence towards a living beings. The most interesting part  in the History of Jainism is the Jain flag. The flag is a combination of five colours which is red or orange, Yellow, White , Green and Dark Blue or Black.  It also has a swastik  at the centre. It also has a siddhashila chakra and three dots. Every thing on the flag has great significance and they represent the ideals of Jainism.

  • White colour represents the idea of Non-violence which is the central theme of Jainism.
  • Red represents the idea of salvation.
  • Yellow represents your ideal or guru.
  • Green represents being healthy and being disassociated with bad things.
  • Black represents away from material things and worldly affairs.
  • Swastika represents the existence of living beings which have been categorised in four:
  1. Gods
  2. Humans.
  3. Animal or any living body apart from humans.
  4. Bad people
  • There are three dots above the swastika that represents the three best conducts in which human life should be lead which are:
  1. Right Faith.
  2. Right Knowledge.
  3. Right Conduct.
  • The Siddhashila chakra represents Pure energy.

history of jainism



Mahavira the 24th tirthankara in the history of Jainism was born in 540 BC in vaishali near Bihar. He was the son of Siddhartha and Trishala. Mahavira got married to Yashodha . The turning point in the life of Mahavira came at the age of 30 when due to unfortunate demise of his parents, Mahavira left he family and all worldly affairs and went on the path that leads to higher truth. After 12 years of meditation at the age of 42 he achieved the supreme Knowledge which is called as ‘Kaivalya’. Mahavira died at the age of 72 in 468 BC.


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.