About India People Politics

List of presidents of India

List of Presidents of India

In India, President is first citizen of the country, head of state and also the Commander in chief of Armed Forces. The word “President” is called as “Rashtrapti” in Hindi language. The president in India elected by the members of parliament houses ( Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha). There have been 13 presidents since 1950 (When the post has been created).  Two presidents Mr. Zakir Husain and Mr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmad have died during their tenure.  List of presidents of India with their tenure are shown below in the tabular format.


( Current President)


Sr. Name Tanure
1 Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1950-1962
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1962-1967
3 Zakir Husain 1967-1969
4 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1969-1974
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmand 1974-1977
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 1977-1982
7 Zail Singh 1982-1987
8 R. Venkatraman 1987-1992
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma 1992-1997
10 K. R. Narayanan 1997-2002
11 Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam 2002-2007
12 Pratibha Patil 2007-2012
13 Pranab Mukherjee 2012-Present


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.