About India Amazing Facts India's Wonders People

Noble Prize Winners of India

Alfred Nobel in his last will said that his money should be given out in prizes to the people who do path breaking revelations in their fields. Nobel prize is considered as the greatest recognition in the world.  Noble prize is given in the fields of physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, peace and economics.  Till date there have 5 Indian citizens which have won the prize. This list doesn’t include people of Indian origin who have won noble and they are not Indian citizens.

1.)  Rabindranath Tagore :

Noble Prize Winners of India
Rabindranath tagore

Rabindranath tagore born on 7th may 1861 was India’s greatest poet of all time. He was awarded the noble prize in literature in 1913 for his work which is ‘Gitanjali’. India’s national Anthem ‘Jan Gan Man’ is also written by him.  Rabindranath Tagore was also called as ‘Gurudev’.

2.) C.V. Raman :

Noble Prize Winners of India
C.V. Raman

Sir C.V. Raman born in Madras( now Chennai) on 7th November 1888 was the greatest scientist India has ever had.  He successfully conducted an experiment where he proved that when light passes through a traverses a transparent material then some of its deflected light changes in wavelength and this was later called as ‘Raman effect ‘. He was awarded noble prize in physics in 1930. Apart from the noble prize he has been given Bharat Ratna, Lenin peace prize, knight bachelor and he was also a fellow of royal society.

3.) Mother Teresa :

Noble Prize Winners of India
Mother teresa

She was born on 26th August in ottoman Empire in 1910. From 1948 to 1997 when she died, she was an Indian citizen. She worked for the poor and down trodden all her life and yet she was a part of few controversies. She was given the noble peace prize in 1979.

4.) Amratya Sen :

Noble Prize Winners of India
Amratya Sen

Amratya Sen born on 3rd November 1933 is an India economist who has worked towards welfare economics. He is currently the professor of economics and philosophy at harvard university.  He was awarded the noble prize in economics in 1997 and a year later he was given the Bharat Ratna.

5.) Kailash Satyarthi :

Noble Prize Winners of India
Kailash Satyarthi

Kailash Satyarthi was born on 11th January 1954 in Madhya Pradesh (the central state of India). He is the founder of Bachpan Bachao Andolan ( Save the Innocence). For his work towards the education rights of all children, he was awarded the noble peace prize in 2014.



Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.