Asia Cup’s History

Asia cup is a cricket series held every 2 years between the Asia cricket playing nations. Asian  cricket council was founded in 1983 and the first Asia Cup was held in Sharjah in 1984. The winner of the first ever this series was India. In 2016 it was decided that Asia cup will be held on rotational basis which is 50 over format and 20 over format. In 2016 the first ever t20 Asia Cup will be held in Bangladesh starting 24th February.

Talking about the History of this cup, India and Sri Lanka has won it 5 times each which is the maximum. If we would talk about individual records then Virat Kohli holds the record for highest individual score in a inning which is 183.

The veteran murlidaran has the record for most number of wickets which is 30.

Sanath Jayasuriya hold the record for most runs in a tournament which is 378 in held 2008 . Indian captain MS Dhoni holds the record for highest average which is 95.96  Sanath jayasuriya also holds the record for most runs in Asia cup and most centuries which is 6 hundreds. The record for most number of half century is held by Kumar Sangakara which is 12 fifties. The record for most sixes is held by Shahid Afridi which is 26 sixes and record for most fours is held by Sanath Jayasuriya that is 139 boundaries.

What would be interesting to see is an entire series before t20 World Cup to be played as a dress rehearsal before the big tournament.  All the very best to all teams.

Asia cup logo
Asia cup logo

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.